Tool Talk

Classic Power Tools => Classic Power Tools => Topic started by: Twilight Fenrir on June 14, 2017, 12:29:25 PM

Title: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Twilight Fenrir on June 14, 2017, 12:29:25 PM
Hello there,

On to my next piece of machinery... Maybe... This one I don't own yet, but I found it for $600, and am sorely tempted, and want to know more about it. The aesthetics of it have me hard in love with it, but I actually know very little about lathes, this would be a purchase of opportunity, rather than immediate use... So here are some pictures.... Thoughts/opinions? Metal lathes don't come up often here, and they're never this pretty <3

Seller states it works good...

Thanks.

(http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q226/Midnight_Fenrir/Tool%20Pron/00Q0Q_bBkYuPHLzfH_600x450_zpsbexogdx5.jpg)

(http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q226/Midnight_Fenrir/Tool%20Pron/00a0a_hapM4xEdoP8_600x450_zpsrwq5caqa.jpg)

(http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q226/Midnight_Fenrir/Tool%20Pron/00707_eoer4j6CyXT_600x450_zpsiwdekphs.jpg)

(http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q226/Midnight_Fenrir/Tool%20Pron/00a0a_g73CrAEM0CM_600x450_zpsn2isii1q.jpg)

(http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q226/Midnight_Fenrir/Tool%20Pron/00a0a_6kdHaEv2jWv_600x450_zpsd8rskwxl.jpg)
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: oldgoaly on June 14, 2017, 01:02:06 PM
Best website for info on lathes is here! http://lathes.co.uk/ (http://lathes.co.uk/)
check for wear on the bed where the carriage rides along that is the easiest to see, if it under power turn something to see ha well it works.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Twilight Fenrir on June 14, 2017, 06:22:41 PM
Best website for info on lathes is here! http://lathes.co.uk/ (http://lathes.co.uk/)
check for wear on the bed where the carriage rides along that is the easiest to see, if it under power turn something to see ha well it works.
Very insightful page n.n I've been reading up a bit on it, and man, having a lathe sounds so much better than I had even dreamed XD

She's a decent sized machine, a little over 6' in length (actual machine size, not stock size) which sounds like a good size for my shop. I can always sell it, and get a bigger one if the need arises, but aside from making parts for other machinery, and perhaps being able to bore out and bush my post drill press, I don't have a pressing need for a lathe NOW. But I know I will in the future when I can throw more time into my shop. And, if this thing isn't worn out, it looks like an absolute treasure.

I'm still really nervous about it, though... Except for a honking big (36" diameter stock big) lathe at a local machine shop, I don't know that I've ever even seen a metal lathe in person XD Maybe I should look up some youtube videos and get better visual aides to go along with the written information.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: rustyfordgarage on June 14, 2017, 07:07:01 PM
Check out David Richards on Youtube.  He has a steam powered shop full of machine tools similar to that lathe. Keith Rucker and his site /channel Vintage Machinery are also a good resource.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: turnnut on June 14, 2017, 07:14:16 PM
  www.vintagemachinery.org
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: oldgoaly on June 14, 2017, 07:17:37 PM
Lathes are like most machines one size doesn't fit all.  It takes a little longer to set up the threading gears but they cut just like one with quick change.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Twilight Fenrir on June 15, 2017, 06:59:41 AM
Will do, thanks!

Already been to Vintagemachinery, they're always one of my first stops. They didn't have any information on this particular machine, though the company history was interesting...

Actually, I'm starting to wonder if the belt drive part is original, or if the drive shaft was originally remotely mounted, and someone cobbled it together onto the machine... I'll have a better feel for that when I go look at it...

Lathes are like most machines one size doesn't fit all.  It takes a little longer to set up the threading gears but they cut just like one with quick change.

Yeah, I'm starting to question whether or not this machine is big enough... It's probably not going to be my end game lathe... But, as long as it's in good shape, it might be a good one to learn on...

I actually quite like the idea of physically replacing to gears to change  gearing :P I love anachronisms, and it gives the machine character...
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: turnnut on June 15, 2017, 07:05:51 PM
 that looks like an interesting lathe,  with all your projects, I'm sure you will find use for it.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Northwoods on June 16, 2017, 06:17:43 AM
"Purchase of opportunity".  I need to remember that one to try out on Mrs Northwoods. Wish me luck.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Twilight Fenrir on June 16, 2017, 06:21:25 AM
The more I think about it, the more things I can think of I could use a lathe for... :P Making parts for my other machinery would be nice

"Purchase of opportunity".  I need to remember that one to try out on Mrs Northwoods. Wish me luck.
Haha, good luck! I only need to run things past my dogs, and they're pretty chill about it :P
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Twilight Fenrir on June 17, 2017, 06:19:42 PM
Well, it was probably the wrong call, but I loaded the lathe into my El Camino and brought it home for $500. It's a little bit rough around the edges (metaphorically) but the important bits seem to be in good repair.... Time will tell. It did come with a brand new chuck in an adorable little wooden crate X3

Thanks for the input n.n
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: turnnut on June 17, 2017, 07:09:43 PM
good luck with this project,  but I hope that you do not tell us that you need to buy another lathe to make parts for the Prentiss.

only kidding, good luck.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Twilight Fenrir on June 18, 2017, 10:03:34 AM
good luck with this project,  but I hope that you do not tell us that you newed to buy another lathe to make parts for the Prentiss.

only kidding, good luck.

It seems to be in working order.... Some of the frills are compromised... I'll get more details of it in a couple weeks... As much as I am inclined to futz with it, I have to get ready for my demonstrations next weekend.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Yadda on June 18, 2017, 10:19:04 AM
I look forward to future posts on this subject.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Twilight Fenrir on June 28, 2017, 05:33:24 PM
I finally got around to doing just a little bit of putzing with the lathe today... I put on a new flatbelt, and mounted the brand new chuck that came with it.

The plate the chuck is mounted on appears to be .0025" excentric. If I set it to zero in one spot, it cranks out to .005 180* around the plate. But, if I zero it 90* to either side, I wind up with +/- .0025". After mounting the chuck, I re-ran the test on the narrow pass between the chuck jaws and the tightening screws, and I get the same results, +/-.0025. So at least it appears I have the chuck mounted nice and square.

I'm not sure how much this should concern me... Though, I'm guessing probably not terribly much... .005" is one third, of one 64th of an inch... I don't foresee needing that kind of tolerances any time soon...

I don't appear to have a chuck key, and the size is a little odd, so I can't slip anything in it at this very moment. No big worry, I'm a blacksmith, a chuck key will be easily made. It's just between 3/8" and 1/2" so I don't have anything I can just cram in there to fool around with it immediately on hand :P


I've been watching videos on techniques, and tools, and parts I can make for my lathe, on my lathe... I've got quite a few projects in my head already :P I'm also considering using my lathe as an end mill.

I've done some reading, and the big problem with using a lathe as an end mill appears to be that the tool rest isn't rigid enough to support the piece adequately. (As well as having a limited range of movement up/down) But, I notice my lathe has something no other lathe I've seen has... great big honking T-slots on the apron on either side of the valley, and on either side of the tool rest. (though, the far rear one is broken off... ouch...) But this would certainly be sturdy enough if I could figure out a proper design...

But that's a far off project. Of more immediate concern is the steady-rest on my lathe is thrashed, and I'll need to make a new one. But, my first project, when I get around to it, will be making a new arbor for my 1950's 13" Craftsman bandsaw, as the section that holds the v-belt drive pulley is stripped on mine.

Of even greater concern I guess... is figuring out how to level the damn thing on my horribly uneven concrete floor... I understand lathe's need to be as close to dead level as possible... and that's gonna be tough to do... especially given there are no adjusting feet on the lathe.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Yadda on June 28, 2017, 07:11:46 PM
Cut some shims for leveling with your recently acquired saw.  :grin:
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Twilight Fenrir on July 17, 2017, 12:24:30 PM
Now that I found a new photo hosting site, I can finally get back to posting about these things :P

So here's my lathe in its new home... It hasn't been leveled yet, but I've been putsing with it here and there. I turned a new arbor for my 1950s Craftsman Bandsaw (which you can see in the background of the 2nd picture) but otherwise I've just been experimenting, and playing with it for a few minutes here and there...

Some observations so far are, I really need to move the flat belt drive pulley further away, or make it adjustable somehow. They're just too close together, I can't change speed without stretching the belt out. The tool post really sucks... It just doesn't stay still when you put the tool to the piece, and it's a bear to get it adjusted just right. A quick change tool post is high on my priority list when I'm not poor anymore :P The slides for the vise are probably a little more worn than might be ideal, but doesn't seem to be overly bad. I think some fine adjustments will get me close enough when I feel like throwing a day at it to get it as perfect as I can.

I keep flipping back and forth between I'm screwed, or it's amazing :P And I need to figure that out before I invest in upgrades for it... It's most likely perfectly good enough for my purposes for the time being. I just need to learn how to use it a bit better, and figure out the tooling a bit better...

(https://vgy.me/2TTrvO.jpg)

(https://vgy.me/uUbwZx.jpg)
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: bill300d on July 17, 2017, 12:37:39 PM
Turn that motor and transfer shaft upside down and mount to the ceiling. You'll get a bit of a line shaft look with a longer flat belt to help with changing speeds.
 And before I forget and not to be a pain but you should size your pics a little smaller.
Title: Re: Prentice Brother's Lathe?
Post by: Twilight Fenrir on July 17, 2017, 04:46:28 PM
Turn that motor and transfer shaft upside down and mount to the ceiling. You'll get a bit of a line shaft look with a longer flat belt to help with changing speeds.
 And before I forget and not to be a pain but you should size your pics a little smaller.
That's the plan... only problem is, I don't know if that's where it's gonna live long term :P I guess it wouldn't be a huge deal to relocate it again, though...

Holy crap, I didn't realize the pictures would come through that big! I guess photobucket used to resize them automatically for me... Wow my phone takes high-rez pictures, lol