Author Topic: action 32177?  (Read 4894 times)

Offline krusty the clown

action 32177?
« on: January 06, 2016, 06:55:10 AM »
I picked this up yesterday because I found it odd.

now my questions......has anyone ever seen one like this? does anyone have an action or a thorson with anything other than a knurled round handle? does anyone know of the patent used (it has pat pend)?

I am assuming that the handle is an import that someone has replaced the head with one from an action ratchet but would like to solve the mystery.

Offline lauver

• Belton, TX
Re: action 32177?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2016, 10:57:04 AM »
krusty,

I've never seen that handle style on any Thorsen or Action ratchet.  But, I'm not a Thorsen expert.

I suspect the Pat Pend on the ratchet refers specifically to the ratchet core, not the handle.

Shoot a PM to member OilyRascal... he's your guy (i.e. Thorsen guru). 

« Last Edit: January 08, 2016, 01:18:30 PM by lauver »
Member of PHARTS - Pefect Handle Admiration, Restoration, and Torturing Society

Offline OilyRascal

• Contributor
    • Facebook Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2016, 08:01:52 PM »
The ratchet head appears common to Thorsen, rebranded Action, but the handle seems a misfit.  The handle reminds me of the JCPENNEY branded SK.  If it's Thorsen I've not seen such.  From the picture it appears the head is loose fitting.
"FORGED IN THE USA" myself.  Be good to your tools!

Garden and Yard Rustfinder Extraordinaire!
http://www.papawswrench.com/vboard/index.php?topic=3717

Offline krusty the clown

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2016, 01:08:07 AM »
It actually fits well and works like it belongs there!

Offline lauver

• Belton, TX
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2016, 01:14:27 PM »
krusty,

It's looking like your original assumption may be correct.  Are there any markings anywhere on the ratchet handle?

I have a Truecraft (Japan) 41-tooth round head ratchet that has a similar, but not exact handle.  It's close, but no cigar :grin: