Author Topic: Vintage Plane(s) Help  (Read 1443 times)

Offline hobe12

Vintage Plane(s) Help
« on: September 18, 2017, 03:13:49 PM »
Hi all,

I was recently given 2 old hand planes (pictures below). I am pretty new to fine woodworking, but would like to get these things into working condition. Unfortunately, the blades (and some other parts, I believe) are missing. I would really appreciate it if ya'll out there could help me figure out what parts I need to buy and any other information on these types of planes.

Many thanks,
SH

Offline Bill Houghton

Re: Vintage Plane(s) Help
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2017, 04:27:00 PM »
You might wander down to your local library and see if there are basic books on woodworking that include hand tool chapters.  "The Hand Plane Book" focuses entirely on hand planes, and will give you a lot of detail; but even a basic book will help.  In the meantime, this might get you started:

You're missing the (cutting) iron, the chipbreaker, and the lever cap for both.  The irons are more or less interchangeable among different planes (mostly), with some exceptions; the big issue is width, which will tend to be 1-3/4", 2", 2-3/8", or 2-5/8" (there are some really small planes, shorter than 9", that take 1-5/8" or even narrower irons; I can't tell about the all-metal one as to length from the photo).  The bedding space will be a tad wider, to give you working room to tilt it side to side.  The chipbreakers and lever caps vary somewhat from plane to plane, often enough that they don't interchange.  Height of the adjusting tab and of the screw on which the lever cap pivots are the issues.