Author Topic: Ratchet Repair  (Read 1501 times)

Offline lptools

• Global Moderator
Ratchet Repair
« on: April 05, 2018, 03:55:52 PM »
Hello, I am finally getting around to fixing these, a Proto 1/2" Drive, and an S-K 3/8" Drive. Both companies provided the repair parts free of charge. I could not believe the crud that was inside of the 2 heads, this is what they look like after a good cleaning. I will post pics after re-assembly. Regards, Lou
Member of PHARTS-  Perfect Handle Admiration, Restoration and Torturing Society

Offline Nolatoolguy

Re: Ratchet Repair
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2018, 10:02:16 PM »
I love those Sk roto Head ratchets. have two myself, one for work one for home.
And I'm proud to be an American,
where at least I know I'm free.
And I won't forget the men who died,
who gave that right to me.
~Lee Greenwood

Offline EVILDR235

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2018, 11:24:34 PM »
I only use oil in my ratchets. I worked as a engine mechanic for 32 years at the same job. Whenever I picked up a used ratchet I would clean it very well and check for wear or damage. I always used oil in my ratchets. Once a week I would flush them out in the solvent tank, blow dry them and re oil them. I always try to use a breaker bar to loosen tight nuts and bolts and then used a ratchet to finish the job. I only broke two ratchets in 32 years at work by using a cheater bar. A 3/8 drive Mustang and a 1/2 inch round head quick release Craftsman. Most people at work used grease in their ratchets. In the summer months that worked ok, but come winter the grease would thicken in the ratchets and not allow the internal parts to mesh properly causing wear and breakage. The biggest problem I had at work was my tools growing legs and walking away.

EvilDr235

Offline lptools

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2018, 06:21:18 AM »
Hello, EvilDr235. Thanks for the tip, a lot of what I pulled out of the heads was dried up grease & dirt!!!!!. Regards, Lou

Offline EVILDR235