Author Topic: Cutting little voxels out of plywood  (Read 1619 times)

Offline LadyConstance

• wywóz gruzu Warszawa
Cutting little voxels out of plywood
« on: November 12, 2020, 05:13:19 AM »
Hello!

I am very new to woodworking. A newbie in arts in general but with pandemic and being short on cash while the Christmas is incoming I decided to create the gifts for family with my own hand. I looked into voxel art i.e. recreating chosen pictures with small triangles. However, I do not want to do that digitally by for real. I am going to draw or imprint the pattern on a plywood and then cut the pieces by hand, arrange, glue in and paint. The cutting part is what brings me to you today. Can I use a wallpaper knife (it is a thin knife you use to cut wallpapers with) or is there something better?

Offline Yadda

Re: Cutting little voxels out of plywood
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2020, 06:48:37 AM »
you can use the knife to mark the edges, but in my opinion you will find it rough going to cut most plywood with a knife.   You could purchase thin wood veneer and cut it with a knife, but I don't believe it would give you the depth you may be seeking with plywood.
You might say I have a tool collecting problem....

Offline Jim C.

« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2020, 07:57:33 AM »
Hi Lady,

I’m with Yadda on this one.  Using a knife is possible assuming your material (plywood) is very thin.  Anything more than 3/16” thick is probably too thick.  I tried to replicate what you’re proposing with 3/16” thick birch veneered plywood.  Just to make a couple cuts using a utility knife outfitted with a new blade was tedious.  For one or two cuts, it will work, but an entire picture will take some significant time and effort to create with a knife.  Anyway, here’s what I did: